Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
The News from June 5, 1982
0:00
-14:52

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Garrison Keillor and Friends

The News from June 5, 1982

1

06.05.82

Memorial day was last Monday, with quite a large crowd at the cemetery.  They all remembered last year's address by Father Emil. It went on and on in full detail. At the thirty minute mark people started to sneak out. The Sons of Knute were dozing off leaning on their guns. As Father Emil started to talk about General Pickett giving his command …

This post is for paid subscribers

Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
I always wrote the monologue on Friday evening, four or five pages, and looked at it Saturday morning, and then not again. I never read it. I never memorized it. I felt that I’d naturally remember the memorable parts...