Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
The News from August 18, 1984
0:00
-24:18

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Garrison Keillor and Friends

The News from August 18, 1984

2

08.18.84

The folks in Lake Wobegon asked that the host take a break this weekend, so many of the worthy stories are just repeats. It is true that spouses get to hear the same story over and over and eyes roll. Spouses, friends, coworkers get tired of the same old stories. For years the host recited “O Captain, My Captain” and boy did they tire of it.

One …

This post is for paid subscribers

Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
I always wrote the monologue on Friday evening, four or five pages, and looked at it Saturday morning, and then not again. I never read it. I never memorized it. I felt that I’d naturally remember the memorable parts...