Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
The News from August 8, 1981
0:00
-6:44

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Garrison Keillor and Friends

The News from August 8, 1981

1

8/8/81

The toast is all picked up from Toast and Jelly Days and now the folks in Lake Wobegon are getting ready for the Mist County Fair. It’s scheduled on Labor Day to give the kids a wholesome alternative to the Minnesota State Fair and the tacky atmosphere of the Midway. 

The Whippets were clobbered once again, but after this game they actually held a …

This post is for paid subscribers

Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
I always wrote the monologue on Friday evening, four or five pages, and looked at it Saturday morning, and then not again. I never read it. I never memorized it. I felt that I’d naturally remember the memorable parts...