Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
The News from December 24, 1983
0:00
-18:44

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Garrison Keillor and Friends

The News from December 24, 1983

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

12.24.83

It was bitterly cold in Lake Wobegon this week. Thirty below and cars wouldn't start. Everyone in Minnesota has jumper cables. Kids even get them in decorator colors as graduation gifts. If cars don't start, they use the cables to spell SOS in the snowbank. In Lake Wobegon it is a matter of pride if your car starts in cold weather, though people…

This post is for paid subscribers

Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
I always wrote the monologue on Friday evening, four or five pages, and looked at it Saturday morning, and then not again. I never read it. I never memorized it. I felt that I’d naturally remember the memorable parts...