Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
The News from July 18, 1981
0:00
-7:59

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Garrison Keillor and Friends

The News from July 18, 1981

07.18.81

At this time of year, Lake Wobegon is all about porch life and gardening. Mr. Luger picked two of his prize tomatoes and he spent time showing them around town. They were handled a bit too much and got quite squishy. Still, he was so proud.

In Lake Wobegon there is no air conditioning. Luxury is sitting on the porch. People walk by, leading to co…

This post is for paid subscribers

Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
I always wrote the monologue on Friday evening, four or five pages, and looked at it Saturday morning, and then not again. I never read it. I never memorized it. I felt that I’d naturally remember the memorable parts...