Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
The News from October 30, 1982
0:00
-15:18

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Garrison Keillor and Friends

The News from October 30, 1982

3

10.30.82

Election day was soon approaching and Dorothy at the Chatterbox put up a sign that said no politics. In Lake Wobegon, you need to be decisive, choose a side and take a stand. Lutherans tended to be Republicans and Catholics were Democrats. One year, leading up to the election, Hubert Humphrey came to the Farmer Labor Union picnic. Even though it…

This post is for paid subscribers

Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor and Friends
I always wrote the monologue on Friday evening, four or five pages, and looked at it Saturday morning, and then not again. I never read it. I never memorized it. I felt that I’d naturally remember the memorable parts...