Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor's Podcast
A Letter from Greenville, S.C.
16
0:00
-6:42

A Letter from Greenville, S.C.

Podcast 58 - "And in the course of doing these shows I feel a profound mystery: it’s much more fun being an old has-been than it was to be a big success."
16

I spent last week gadding about the Carolinas doing shows and enjoying the South, eating eggs and grits and hearing the waitress say, “Can I get you more coffee, darling?” and encountering Republicans, a tribe rarer than Mohicans on the West Side of Manhattan where I live. I miss them. My uncles tended Republican, believing in personal responsibility and fiscal reality, and at church on Palm Sunday, at coffee hour, I heard the word “taxes” uttered contemptuously and a gentleman in his sixties was saying, “Everything government touches, it messes up,” a genuine living Republican. Twenty minutes before, at Mass, he had been forgiven his iniquity, and I wanted to put my arms around him.

Discussion about this podcast

Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor's Podcast
Funny, poignant, sentimental, and sometimes controversial thoughts of the day