Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor's Podcast
A week in Kansas and Missouri
5
0:00
-6:41

A week in Kansas and Missouri

Podcast 11 — So maybe they voted for the guy with the ducktail who wouldn’t know “Abide With Me” if it bit him in the butt, but it doesn’t matter.
5

Journalism is about tragedy and malfeasance and corruption, it’s not journalists’ job to report on happiness, you need to experience that directly, which I did, night after night, standing in dim light among strangers many of whom intensely disagree with me, but I feel their humanity, their love of beauty, their cheerfulness, my fellow Americans, and I shall leave politics to people smarter than I, and keep my distance from anguish, at least until next summer when I may exercise my right to be righteous. Or maybe not. I do think the House and Senate, instead of opening sessions with a prayer, would do well to open with a song. Maybe “We know we belong to the land and the land we belong to is grand,” followed by “Amazing grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me.” It might help.

Garrison Keillor
Jason Keillor, Engineer
Jason Keillor, Original Music
5 Comments
Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor's Podcast
Funny, poignant, sentimental, and sometimes controversial thoughts of the day