Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor's Podcast
A perfect summer night in Manhattan
15
0:00
-7:32

A perfect summer night in Manhattan

Podcast 66: Two days ago I was up in Connecticut, sitting on the front porch of an old white house at 5 am, my favorite time of day... a fine time to think and also to pray silently for people I know.
15

I was brought up by Midwestern stoics who drummed the lesson into us: Don’t think you’re somebody because you’re not. You’re not so smart as you think. You’re the same as everybody else. So buckle down and get your work done and don’t fall behind. So I turned into a hard worker. But sitting on this terrace at night with my daughter, and then my wife comes out with her glass of wine, this sandwich putting my friends within easy reach, it is clear to this old Episcopalian, God’s great generosity, how much He loves us, to give us this summer night. In this ugly election year, let us be good for each other.

Discussion about this podcast

Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor's Podcast
Funny, poignant, sentimental, and sometimes controversial thoughts of the day