Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor's Podcast
The art of writing, lesson one
5
0:00
-7:12

The art of writing, lesson one

Podcast 43 - Sausage teaches a writer an excellent lesson. A sausage is not made of filet mignon, it is made of various things, some of which you’d rather not know about, but with the proper seasoning
5
Transcript

No transcript...

Silence is a basic necessity. I’m an early riser and as I make coffee and take my meds, my dreams evaporate and my waking mind is open to inspiration and sometimes finds it — I suddenly know what’s next in my novel, I think of a letter I need to write to someone, and I don’t want an Oscar Mayer wiener to butt in. The thought of wanting to be one, of wanting to be eaten, a jingle about cannibalism. I’ve been off Oscar Mayer for decades, I eat a Nathan’s now and then but what I crave is the Kramarczuk’s bratwurst from the Kramarczuk’s Sausage Company on East Hennepin Avenue in Minneapolis.

5 Comments
Garrison Keillor and Friends
Garrison Keillor's Podcast
Funny, poignant, sentimental, and sometimes controversial thoughts of the day